About Us

The Friendly Club!

The St George Chess Club prides itself on a diverse membership with a range of chess abilities. We foster a social atmosphere for players of all ages and abilities.

The club runs regular internal club competitions and participates in interclub tournaments. More information about the activities can be found from the calendar.

Meeting place: St George Leagues Club, 124 Princes Highway, Kogarah NSW

Meeting time: 7:30pm Tuesday nights (finishing time changes depending on the nature of the tournament being played, although games rarely go past 11:00pm)

Join the Club

Membership: $25.

We encourage you to make the payment by direct credit to CBA – Account Name: St George Leagues Club Chess Club, BSB: 062-126, Account: 0090 0863. Please ensure you quote Your Name on the deposit reference, and, once submitted, email boanmark@bigpond.net.au a confirmation of the payment.

Cash payments can also be made if a direct deposit is not possible. Just turn up at the chess club, and ask for Mark Boan, our friendly club treasurer.

Membership entitlements: Entry in all St George Chess Club tournaments, including:

  • The St George Club Championship
  • The St George Swiss
  • The Grade Matches
  • Numerous shorter tournaments such as the Club Lightning Championship and the Fischer Random Allegro.

Not included: Entry in the St George Summer Open and the St George Summer Open Lightning ($50 and $10 respectively).

Who can join?: Everyone – this means that children are welcome!

If you are new to chess (either adult or child) we suggest that you either come along and play some social (non-tournament) games (there are almost always at least a few people looking for some friendly games on Tuesday nights!), or play in a couple of our shorter tournaments, such as the allegro (15 minutes each a game), rapid (20 minutes + 10 seconds per move each) and lightning (5 minutes each), before you enter one of the longer tournaments.

Graham Saint
President of St George Leagues Club Chess Club

Other officebearers of the club:

Club Captain: Charles Zworestine

Vice-President: Peter Swinton

Treasurer: Mark Boan

Secretary: Stephen Manwarring

Webmaster: Geoff Hyde geoffjhyde@gmail.com

General Members: Malachi O’Donoghue, John Parissis, Ken Eldridge, Richard Eccles, Sait Buzgan.